Metal price index tracking assets

Hello,
Looking for help to launch a synthetic asset tracking metal price.
I have zero knowledge of defi. Looking to collaborate if anyone is interested.
Regards,

2 Likes

Are you talking ferrous or non-ferrous metals? Do you have one specific type of metal you would like to track or multiple types like a recycling center would posts daily?

Yes, I want to start with lithium, price sourced from 3rd party feed. The price is supposed to go up as per every projections, so it could be a great candidate for synthetics.
What do you think?

Absolutely a great idea for synthetics.
Here is a link to UMA’s guide for creating a UMIP to register a new price identifier with UMA’s DVM.
There, you can determine if your 3rd party feed is applicable and gather more information on how the process works when adding new price identifiers (lithium) to the DVM.
A short explanation for you:
Need to have the price updated constantly to determine the value of collateral needed to cover the value of the synthetic token (lithium).
I will try and break this down so you can have a better understanding since you wrote that you have zero knowledge of Defi and Im not sure how much you know.

To make it easily understandable I will compare getting a loan:
β€˜β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™β€™
I = sponsor
My house = wETH ( wETH is β€œwrapped” Ethereum and makes it tradeable in a smart contract)
Loan = Synthetic Token (Lithium)

I (sponsor) put my $150 house ( wETH) up for collateral for a $100 loan (Lithium).
The bank wants to appraise my house 15,000 times a month to make sure that my house will cover the loan if I default or run off with the $100.
Collection Agencies (liquidator bot) receive and monitor those appraisals in real- time.